Yes. Even if you delete a photo from your device's photo gallery app, it remains visible in this app. This is because the app does not attach the original photo file as is; it attaches a slightly compressed copy.
For this reason, the photos in the app may look slightly less sharp than the originals. Thank you for your understanding.